My Heart Still Sings

My heart still
remembers how my father
comforted me one
night when he found me crying
for my mother

Nor has it
forgotten how he allowed
my stepmothers
to come between us caused us
to become estranged

My heart still
remembers how my mother
rushed me to
the hospital in order to save
my life

Not has it
forgotten how she stood behind
me with a leather
belt in her hand as my fingers
folded towels

Oh yes my
heart remembers both the
good and bad
along with the anger and
the fear

My tender
heart twas forced to endure
as a child
then required to live with as
an adult

Nor will it
ever forget the self loathing the
pain engendered it
has had to overcome on its own
day by day

Yet in spite
of the pain – eyes blurry
by tears filled
with sadness my heart
still sings

Leave a Reply

